Here are five main food groups that you should know

Food groups have been essential in guiding the public on how to achieve a balanced diet for over a century. Many countries currently follow the recommended dietary guidelines for healthy eating, which include five food groups. These food groups are created based on shared nutritional properties or macronutrient content.

Dr. Wilbur Olin Atwater first introduced nutrition guidelines and food groupings in 1894. The number of food groups has varied throughout history, ranging from four food groups to twelve. However, most guidelines recommend a minimum number of foods from each of the primary food groups.

To achieve a healthy diet, the Eatwell Guide suggests five food groups, namely

  • fruit and vegetables
  • potatoes, bread, rice, pasta and other starchy carbohydrates
  • beans, pulses, fish, eggs, meat and other proteins
  • dairy and alternatives
  • oils and spreads

Source Eatwell Guide – Food and nutrition | NHS inform

Principles of nutrition and nutritive value of food (

Hi there! My name is Ant and I am a weight loss blogger and wellness enthusiast. I have been on my own weight loss journey for as long as I can remember, during which I have lost over 2 stones and have been able to keep it off. I am passionate about sharing my knowledge and experience with others and helping them achieve their own weight loss goals.